Skip to content

One big fat point for the Apocalypse

March 13, 2010

Jesus. Is there anything worse than realizing that you kind of… sort of… agree with Howard Stern?

Because I was scanning the macleans.ca site for ideas for a blog and I came up with the following quotation from his rant about Oscar winner Gabourey Sidibe:

Stern was having none of it: “Everyone’s pretending she’s a part of show business and she’s never going to be in another movie. She should have gotten the Best Actress award because she’s never going to have another shot. What movie is she gonna be in?”

Now, Stern is an ignorant arsepick and he probably went on to say a dozen things that would have made me throw up in my mouth- I don’t actually listen to the idiot. But I have to admit that this quotation captured exactly what I was thinking when I watched Sidibe’s red carpet moments last week. The hypocrisy of the glitterati made me sick.

Although I haven’t seen Precious, I have no problem believing that Gabourey Sidibe is a brilliantly talented young women. But do we really think she will ever get a chance to explore that talent? This is North America and we HATE fat people. We hate them for existing- and we have manufactured an entire fake obesity health crisis so we can go on hating them for existing. Exactly how many movie scripts do we think this “American Cinderella” is going to get?

And let’s take this analysis one step further. If you ask me, one of the things that allowed Hollywood to gush so shamelessly over Sidibe is that she is very fat. Ironically, she is fat enough not to be a threat to their little size-zero world. She is so clearly an exception that they can congratulate themselves on how openly they have embraced her while still flogging their diet plans and mocking any other leading lady who puts on ten pounds.

So let me recap. Gabourey Sidibe is a talented young actress who will never get to shine because we are not interested in stories about people who are fat. The media and entertainment industry will make her their token of acceptance and go on training us to be repulsed by all the other people they have defined as fat. And I will have to admit that I somewhat agree with [retches] Howard Stern.

All together, that’s one big fat point for the Apocalypse.

The Apocalypse: 4.5

Humanity: 3

4 Comments
  1. mummaboox2 permalink

    As I’m so out of the loop with movies, etc., I had to check IMDB to see about whom you were writing. As I looked at her photos, there was an advertisement for Curves scrolling across the top. How much more evidence do you need that your analysis on this one is spot on? Grrrrr…

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Cupcakes Are Proof That Not Everything About Life Sucks « Mommyhood and Life

Leave a Reply

