Skip to content

Catherine O’Hara scores for humanity

March 2, 2010

The closing ceremony of the 2010 winter olympic games. Neil Young. Russian ballet. Giant inflatable moose. I think I may have cried real maple syrup when they rolled out those great big beavers. Whether or not you like Nickelback or managed to smile during William Shatner’s monologue, the fact remains that at a moment when the world’s eyes were upon us, Canada had the balls to end with a joke about peeing in the snow. There are lots of tight-ass commentors wringing their hands over the kitsch and the low-brow humour, but I salute you, Catherine O’Hara.

But now I’ve got to run. It’s been above freezing all week in Montreal- if I’m going to sign my name, I’ve got to get out there right now.

The Apocalypse: 3.5

Humanity: 2

P.S. If you loved the Olympics too, check out this post from fellow Canadian and Bloggie winner Attack of the Redneck Mommy.

5 Comments
  1. Oh! I totally forgot about the peeing in the snow part. I was mesmerized by what American NBC reporter said, “the always enjoyable giant inflatable beavers.”

    Thanks for the link!

    • Yeah, I find it hard to get past big beavers myself… Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Love, love, love Catherine O’Hara. She’s brilliant.

    • Love her too, but was really hoping that Eugene Levy would pop up out of the floor with her.

      • And this is why you should rule the world. Or at the very least, direct the closing ceremonies at the Olympics.

Leave a Reply

